what I make, thrifting and more

Hello dear readers,

Yesterday was such a busy day with some unexpected visitors that I didn’t get a chance to post.

In the morning Hubby and I went to two flea markets in villages nearby and this is what we found

this lovely hall lamp. I like the shape and the look of it with the grey metal coming through but I still have to repaint as big chips of paint keep falling off. It was a bit too expensive actually, we usually don’t buy stuff over 5 euro’s and this was 7.50 after some haggling but I liked it too much to let it go.

For when I’m finished with the first book, which will be a while yet I’m afraid, but it’s good motivation. It was 1 euro

I don’t know what it’s called, but it’s to hold in your lap while peeling potatoes. It was handmade by the man in the stall and he was sooo proud of his work 🙂 It was just 1 euro.  I’m still in doubt if I will leave it looking like this. I would like it to be all white but then again, I also like to keep it like the man made it.

I also came across this Wade whimsy. I used to collect these as a child when we went to visit my aunt and uncle in Britain. They somehow got lost over the years but whenever I see one in a charity shop or flea market for less than 50 euro cents I take it home with me. This one was 20 cents.

When we got back in town we went to a shop called Action and I got this

some pretty pink nail polish for less than a euro, to celebrate the lovely spring weather and to go with this…

the first high-heeled shoes I’ve bought in I guess over 10 years! They were just 9,95 so I thought I could risk not being able to walk in them LoL

As it turned out I could walk in them although a little pain was involved as I blister very easily. But I so love the look I am going to wear them regardless of the blisters. I’ll just cover my toes in plasters and look pretty 🙂

In the afternoon dear daughter in law came visiting and she brought me presents, isn’t that sweet?

She had been on a shopping spree in a local shop before opening hours with a friend who works there and had brought home lots of nice things for bottom prices

She gave me this lovely tea-pot door stopper, which is way to pretty to sit on the floor and be played with by the doggies maybe, so it now sits on the coffee table together with these lovely candles I have yet to unwrap. One is magnolia scented, mmmm lovely

She also gave me this lovely frog to go outside on the window so I can read the outside temperature. I have a thing about frogs and toads, don’t know why and I used to actively collect them until it got to be a little too much to display. Now they just sit in a box in the attic waiting until I find a nice wall cabinet to put them in. I don’t actively collect them myself anymore but sometimes the kids give me one and I love them.

I’m also making thing out of old books and loving it, such a nice idea. These are the first things I made, more to come soon…

Have a lovely sunday!

Leave a Reply

