what I make, thrifting and more

Rummaging in the attic

Hi there, it’s going to be another unseasonably warm day today, even warmer than yesterday! They promise us it will be nice until the weekend when we will have temperatures that are more normal for March. As it’s so warm already there’s a need for lighter clothes, so yesterday we went upstairs to get our summer clothes out of storage and in the meantime have a little bit of a clear out. Over the winter months a lot of “stuff” had been put up there instead of being thrown away and it was getting a bit too much. So we had a good rummage around and threw a lot of unwanted items away and also found a few forgotten  treasures, like these items that were in a trunk we had from a house clearance. We got rid of the trunk but kept the clothing…

A bridal purse and cap, all hand stitched

And this bridal headdress

I may be wearing it the wrong way around. It was hard to see how to wear it as it was so out of shape, but now I’ve washed it and bended the frame a bit and I think  it should be front to back

There was also this clergy band, also hand made

These lovely Dutch potholders in cross stitch from, I guess, the fifties

Wouldn’t it be nice to use them on Koninginnedag (the Queen’s birthday) and Bevrijdingsdag (when we celebrate the end of WW2 and our freedom)?

And last but certainly not least, this lovely evening dress with a small train, also handmade.

Look at the detail…

The items are all dirty and I will be gently washing them today. I’m not sure what to do with all of them yet. I may keep the smaller items for the bride. The dress is way to small for me to ever be able to wear, even without the weight I’m a broad shouldered person so I would not fit in a small dress like this. If it comes out of the wash looking nice I may decide to put it up for sale, so someone else can wear it.

I also found a box full of tins. These were really lovely I think so I will use them in my workroom.

I also made the peg bag and one extra for son 2 who had requested one for himself out of material I also found in the attic.

Have a lovely day

Comments on: "Rummaging in the attic" (2)

  1. Sandra, your blog is really great! I have been sitting here looking around while I drink my tea this morning. And you are so talented with yarn!! My oh my! I love the treasures you have found. The dress in this particular post does have beautiful detail. The fabric looks like something that will indeed need a washing that is gentle. As I looked back through your posts I noticed that you are so industrious with the things you find — you do use them. I really admire that. I am not always so good at that! I hope you have a wonderful day!

    xoxo
    Lynn

    • Thanks for the compliments. Reading your blog has been part of my morning routine for a long time now and I always look forward to a new post from you.
      love Sandra

Leave a Reply

